General thoughts about writing

19 March 2017

It’s 4.38am here at the moment of this writing. I’ve been up all night with my 3D printing because of off-peak electricity and because 3D printing takes far longer than ordinary laser printing A4 sheets. From time to time, I’ve broken the long vigil by quickly writing pieces and posting them here in-between reading up on wargaming and following the latest developments with my Tennessee Titans. It’s been a fairly productive evening by my standards.

Do I recall every single piece written on this blogsite? Answer is no, not every one. Often the writing process will see a flurry of pieces, of varying quality. I will, at times, reread a piece I like particularly. Several times if I like it very much. But generally I just write them and then move on to the next one. It does get hectic at times so rereading and reviewing may not even get a look-in.

This rapid output isn’t the traditional or conventional route for budding poets. Those who like to take their time by taking the raw output and fine-tuning it, revising, redrafting, “polishing” it, will easily be offended and appalled at my approach. Even contemporary poets who have trained conventionally may find my style cheap and insignificant. And therefore irrelevant. I really can’t comment on any such reaction except to point out that this way works really well for me. The main point though is that I’m actually writing instead of wishing to write. Some people can’t even get past that stage.

I wish I could remember every piece I’ve written thus far. Maybe I will find clear evidence of any progression.

4.45am. Finally my 3D printed item is done. Now I can head to bed and sleep for a few hours before arising and enjoying the autumn Sunday ahead. It’s my grand daughter’s birthday tomorrow (20th March), followed by my parent’s 60th wedding anniversary (28th) and then two of my adult daughters’ birthdays (30th March and 5th April). One of my brothers just celebrated his 50th yesterday (Saturday). Have a lovely Sunday folks.


CORRECTION: Apology. Actually it’s my great grand daughter’s birthday tomorrow, not my grand daughter. She will be five.

Author: b20f08

I enjoy solo wargaming and writing. The first caters to the boy that never grew up; the latter satisfies a deep desire to communicate. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

