Musical Interlude

When I listen to music, I enjoy the mood it puts me in. Therefore, I tend to avoid controversy with my music, i.e., I am fairly straight-laced in my musical tastes, for the most part. Hearing about how rap music often leans heavily on the past for their musical tunes, I thought I’d share a couple of interesting tracks that I enjoy. Yes, I enjoy Hip Hop/Rap because it’s expression. I don’t care for the conventional attack against Rap (dissing on whatever) because if anger gets to this point, it has to say something about modern society. Doesn’t it?

Ice Cube – No Vaseline. Apart from seeing (and liking) Straight Outa Compton several times, I don’t know much about NWA. I do recall Ice Cube splitting from the group over money and artistic control (from the film). I figure this was his reaction to leaving the group which stayed with their manager.

The bass line is from Dazz’ Brick. Grabs you aurally. Then the lyrics trap you.

Lol. Funny how my next selection is from the same artiste – It Was A Good Day. This one borrows from the Isley Bros Footsteps In The Dark. I like Ice Cube both as an artiste and individual. He struck me as staying true to himself and certainly proves that you can be angry and profit from that anger (maybe I’m poking at Anger Management, the easy solution for conventional mainstream social order – blah!).

EDIT: This last is for my adult son, Dion, who adores Tupac, having grown up with his music. I’ve never really bothered with Tupac because he wasn’t from my musical generation (melody and all that). But he was influential and that can never be denied.

 

Author: b20f08

I enjoy solo wargaming and writing. The first caters to the boy that never grew up; the latter satisfies a deep desire to communicate. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

