Musical Interlude: Santana

Favourite musician, and band, of all time. Others compare but Carlos will always be my guitar hero.

Soul Sacrifice: Woodstock concert. Michael Shrieve’s drumming is freaking awesome. Everything about this live performance is on another level; and I don’t even smoke or do drugs. The power of music.

Oye Como Va. This timeless song really turned me on to Latin music. Not long after, I started developing a love for classical Spanish guitar.

Sensitive Kind. A real favourite of mine. Used to play the bass line and karaoke sing at the same time — not an easy feat for me.

Aqua Marine. Slow build up but then you get drawn in and find yourself transported to another place. Bass line by David Margen is memorable. I love Santana’s stuff from this period (late 70s through to the late 80s). They didn’t so well commercially but then I think this period produced some of his classics. I had to smile when he was “rediscovered” when Supernatural was released. A whole new generation got to appreciate the man, and he was finally receiving the kudos he deserved. Life!

Samba Pa Ti. This song was overlooked a lot when I was younger, probably because of Black Magic Woman and Oye Como Va. But a few years back, I suddenly got back into it after I tried to learn its chord and melody structure.

While My Guitar Gently Weeps. Cover version that is imprinted in Carlos’ style. He’s always produced awesome cover versions like Evil Ways, She’s Not There and Stormy to name a few, and he seems to be continuing the trend of doing really good covers.

Running. Alright, not Carlos but my favourite bass player at the time who happened to be in his band, David Margen. Played on many of my fave albums from that period (late 70s to late 80s).

You Know That I Love You. From the same Marathon album, which is one of favourite Santana albums. Santana was fortunate in having some great members. Alex Ligertwood was my favourite vocalist from that group. His vocals proved that Santana could also do pop rock as good as anyone else.

Gitano. From Amigos (1976). Yeah, another cover. Rumba anyone? This reminds me of Cuban Fury, that salsa movie (2014) starring Nick Frost and Ian McShane. Have a great day.

Borboletta (full album). Many claim this one of his best and shows his creative range.

Albums

 

Author: b20f08

I enjoy solo wargaming and writing. The first caters to the boy that never grew up; the latter satisfies a deep desire to communicate. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

