Musical Interludes: En Vogue

I’ve never really followed female singers/groups even though some of the best singers have been women. Most of the really great ones were before my time; I only got to know them through television and records. If I had to admit to liking any girl group I’d have to say The Supremes.

In my early adult years, the only really memorable female group I really truly liked was En Vogue. To me En Vogue were gorgeously different. They also scared me cos they came across as very strong and confident in themselves. But like a moth to a flame, I was hooked on them.

Of course, there were others that crossed the entire musical spectrum at that time: TLC, Destiny’s Child, Bananarama, and The Spice Girls to name some of the more familiar ones. But for me, it was always, and still remains, En Vogue.

I was surprised by their ability to incorporate elements from other musical genres into their R&B and make it sound unique. And it showed in the videos they produced; they were always testing the artistic boundaries.

Free Your Mind reminds me of Lenny Kravitz, that blend of black roots with modern rock. This video blew me away because it was all so strange at the time, this blend of RnB and Pop Rock coming out from these gorgeous women.

This next video, Hold On, was my favourite from these ladies in the early days. I loved the contrast between the smooth fluid dancing of the ladies in comparison to the energetic yet captivating jerky/stop-start style of the male dancing. One other thing that you notice with En Vogue: each could easily slot into lead vocals because they were all strong singers.

I always remember them as a fun girl group who played a little different to the other girl groups. And they were sexy eye candy as well.

 

Author: b20f08

I enjoy solo wargaming and writing. The first caters to the boy that never grew up; the latter satisfies a deep desire to communicate. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

