Exercise 160706

Part Five

And when Father paused,

that’s when I jumped

in and boldly asked

my boon. Surprised by

my audacity but pleased

that someone even paid

attention, he agreed. And

thus we spoke to

each other, like familiars,

with goblet filled full

ambrosia and mead. Long

into the night we

talked, often changing subject

mid-sentence or, as our

appetites decreed, until as

the sun’s golden cock

crowed. And then we

adjourned, sated and bridled,

and forgetful of our

original purpose. “Till morrow,”

we bid each other

apart. And I, for

one, fell deep into

coma, happy in my

slumber that I had

somehow emptied my head.

 

© 2017 L. Tafa

Author: b20f08

I enjoy solo wargaming and writing. The first caters to the boy that never grew up; the latter satisfies a deep desire to communicate. Cheers.

1 thought on “Exercise 160706”

  1. This piece happened whilst I was doing an earlier piece and happened to look down at other pieces on this blogsite and I saw Part 4. Well, I felt Father Time had finally finished his recitation and it was time for the speaker to jump, as he did.

    I’ve not done any corrections to this because it’s a internal conversation by a character. I don’t know how long I will continue with this and extend it, or wander off in a tangent as I normally do. Have to see. Cheers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

