Exercise 170701

I’ve gone over last night’s work, Exercises 160701 to 160707 inclusive, amending some and making comments. Sometimes more than once.

Before I resume these regular exercises, allow me to iterate that I’ve dispensed with individually naming each piecing and settling on calling them all Exercise. Simple answer: all my pieces remain work-in-progress. As these are spontaneously created, a poet’s duty remain clear-cut: edit what’s crafted to a finished state. Since I tend towards lazy, and it make take some time for me to get round to this necessary but exhausting chore, the next best thing I could think of was naming every piece Exercise.

I did produce one piece not so long ago, and did so because it was a throwback to stuff I had already produced before this year. I’ve tried to steer away from that path because I felt it was counter-productive to this new direction. But I still wanted to remind myself that I could still produce pastoral pieces.

One of the hardest struggles for me is stretching myself beyond what is familiar and comfortable. I’ve flirted at times but have quickly retreated to what is most comfortable because of self-doubt and confidence issue. This has resulted in a lot of internal conflict which sometimes manifests itself in some of my worst pieces.

Knowing one’s limitations is always at the back of my mind of course. Having limitations is fine but having none is better. So, that’s what I’m aiming for by venturing beyond my current comfort zone. Cheers.

Lawrence
5.51am
Brisbane

Author: b20f08

I enjoy solo wargaming and writing. The first caters to the boy that never grew up; the latter satisfies a deep desire to communicate. Cheers.

1 thought on “Exercise 170701”

Leave a Reply

