Musical Interlude

Doing a lot of these Musical Interludes lately. It might be that they’re just a change of pace or a space filler (if cynical) when the inspiration is sparse with the writing and wargaming/modelling. But they’re also essential because music and poetry oft go hand-in-hand.

Today, a bit on Bic Runga, another NZ female artist eking out an existence in a tough industry. People may remember her music from American Pie (the love scene between Heather and Oz). She is born to a Maori father and Malay Chinese mother who settled back in Christchurch. Bic is a well respected member within the NZ music industry, as well as wider public community (Queen’s Birthday Honours List and all that jazz). I’ve not really followed her over because at the time my musical focus and interest was in another direction. However, I did enjoy Sway when it came out. Of late, though, I have relaxed my intensity and started re-examining a lot of the local musical talent (having been exposed to a lot of overseas stuff in my life and gotten bored with most of what passes for music these days), and been really surprised at the talent our local scene has produced (and still produces). It’s like my blinkers are coming off at last. Lol. Just kidding.

Sway is a cutesy feel-good, catchy, pop tune that gained worldwide notice thanks to American Pie. And an appreciative audience was introduced to a marvellous lyricist and unique vocalist. Although she hasn’t enjoyed the same initial success on the level of Sway, she continues to produce many lovely songs like Drive, Hello Hello, Good Morning Baby, A Day Like Today to name a few.

When I first heard Captured I liked it immediately. A lot. A little bit darker and suits that moody reflective moment one gets when one wants to be alone. It is certainly a lot different to her usual golden pop tunes and shows her range as a songwriter.

I actually prefer this Bic (pronounced Bec) to her other persona. Birds is a drifting song, the kind that takes you places. Exotic places. The bird voices add to that sense of being somewhere else. Voice and piano complement one another brilliantly.

Her lyrics for Gravity exhibit that often poetic quality of her songwriting that I find enjoyable in lyrics.

If gravity let us go
We would all go flying
And I’ll meet you somewhere in the milky night
Away past the satellites

The breeze is dressed so lightly
And it breathes onto this fire escape
Where all our secrets melt like ice
Leaving only water

Night will close us down
And change the view
And I’ll promise you what I can
I forget myself when I’m with you
Please remind me who I am

Dancing like a landslide
Swinging round the living room
We fall like sudden rain from sullen skies
Singing to the radio’s tune

Say my name aloud
And make it new
And I’ll promise you what I can
I forget myself when I’m with you
Please remind me who I am

Day so soon, hear all the traffic move
The sirens all fill this room till we both have to shout
From the road, watching the stars explode
You and I breathe so slow
How strange the sound

The opening bars of this reminded me of Goodbye by The Pretenders. And who can’t forget that poem Self Pity by D.H. Lawrence.

 

Self-Pity

I never saw a wild thing
sorry for itself.
A small bird will drop frozen dead from a bough
without ever having felt sorry for itself.

D. H. Lawrence

 

 

Author: b20f08

I enjoy solo wargaming and writing. The first caters to the boy that never grew up; the latter satisfies a deep desire to communicate. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

